Answer: The Ferry Building
“A famous city’s most famous landmark” – Herb Caen, columnist for the San Francisco Chronicle. Opening in 1898 this building served as the transportaion focal point for anyone arrving by train from the East in addition to all the East Bay and Marin residents who worked in this great city. From the Gold Rush until the 1930′s arriving by ferryboat was the only way travelers and commuters – with the exception of those coming from the Peninsula – could reach the city. Extensive renovation of the Ferry Building is now complete and boasts approximately 65,000 square feet of first floor Marketplace space. The Marketplace brings together the greater Bay Area’s agricultural wealth and renowned specialty food purveyors under one roof. The exterior and main public hall have been restored to their original grandeur for use by ferry passengers and the public.