Ingleside Terraces

Ingleside Terraces, built near the popular Ingleside Inn (below) and on the site of the old Ingleside Horseracing Track, with commanding views of Merced Lakes and the Pacific Ocean, was one of the first subdivisions built on Sutro’s property. Opened in 1913, the 613 parcels spread over 148 acres between Garfield and Randolph Streets, Junipero Serra Boulevard (below) and Faxon Avenue, were purchased for $2,500 per acre. It included the San Francisco Golf Club pictured below.

The tract was designed and developed by architect-developer Joseph A. Leonard who came to San Francisco from Philadelphia in 1887. He established himself as an artistic and innovative architect with the designing of Jordan Park. Ingleside Terraces was the first development in San Francisco to feature wide, smooth streets to accommodate the automobile. Pico Avenue off Urbano Drive is named after the last Mexican governor of California who granted the surrounding 4,444.34 acres to Jose de Jesus Noe in 1845. (Courtesy Margie Whitnah.)

The “oversized” lots ranged from 50 to 80 feet in width and 120 to 200 feet in depth making “crowded conditions impossible.” An advertisement at the time included the following reasons for buying a home in Ingleside Terraces: “Honestly built, not ‘to sell’ but for someone to live in; Situated where there is elbow room and an abundance of fresh air; Having clean and healthful surroundings – physically and morally; With kindly neighbors who are neither very rich, nor very poor; Designed by architects of large experience who make no mistakes.” (By Patrick McGrew, The Argonaut Winter 2004.) View of Ocean Avenue streetcar line near Ingleside Inn in 1909 below. (Image # U02427 | Image Courtesy of the SFMTA Photo Archive |

(Homeowner’s Association:

Additional Resources: